FEC Approves 5 New Private Universities

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) during its meeting of Wednesday, 22 February, 2012, considered and approved the establishment of five (5) additional private universities in the country. The new private universities,

which are to be issued licences by the National Universities Commission (NUC), are:

  • Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin,Ondo State;
  • Evangel University, Akaeze, EbonyiState;
  • Gregory University, Uturu, AbiaState;
  • Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo, Ogun State; and
  • Southwestern University, Oku Owa, Ogun State.

The approved universities, it would be recalled, had satisfied the requirements as contained in the Education (National Minimum Standards and Establishment of Institutions) Act Cap E3 LFN of 2004 for the establishment of private universities.

With this development the Nigerian University System (NUS) now has 122 universities comprising 50 private and 36 each Federal and State universities.

The Executive Secretary, NUC, Professor Julius A. Okojie, who was in attendance at the FEC meeting, said that the approval of the five private universities would provide access to university education for more students in the coming years.

Upcoming Events

Tenders Board
  Wed 29th - Thu 30th Mar, 2017
    12:00 am

Finance and General Purposes Committee Meeting
  Thu 30th - Fri 31st Mar, 2017
    12:00 am

Governing Council Meeting
  Fri 31st Mar, - Sat 1st Apr, 2017
    12:00 am

First Semester Break
  Mon 10th - Sat 15th Apr, 2017
    12:00 am

Arrival of all students
  Sun 16th - Mon 17th Apr, 2017
    12:00 am